Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Translating Basic Science Through Capacity-Building and Private Sector Technology Development

Objectives

  • Building site capacity in low-and-middle-income countries to conduct HIV vaccine clinical trials;
  • Strengthening the capacity of researchers and research institutions to conduct high-quality clinical trials; and
  • Establishing a new transfer payment fund to encourage private sector participation in technology development that would contribute to the development of an HIV vaccine.

Activities

  • Provide support to the Global Health Research Initiative (GHRI) to implement the HIV Prevention Trials Capacity Building Program Grants to strengthen the capacity and leadership of African researchers and research institutions to conduct future HIV/AIDS prevention trials with a focus on HIV prevention technologies, particularly vaccines;
  • Provide direct project management support services along with access to technical information and knowledge to assist researchers in transforming applied and preclinical research into clinical trial studies;
  • Provide funding to selected HIV vaccine developers to enable access to existing private sector facilities to manufacture clinical trial lots of HIV vaccine candidates;
  • Encourage private sector Small and Medium Enterprise participation in projects that will contribute to the development of an HIV vaccine under a new program to be delivered under the National Research Council's Industrial Research Assistance Program (NRC-IRAP).

Outcomes

  • Greater number of early stage clinical trials being conducted in low-and-middle-income countries;
  • Efficient and timely transition from preclinical research into clinical trial studies, ultimately increasing the body of knowledge with respect to an HIV vaccine in Canada and low-and-middle-income countries;
  • Increased number of clinical trial lots manufactured for promising HIV vaccine candidates in low-and-middle-income countries;
  • Strengthened clinical trial capacity in Canada and low-and-middle-income countries; and
  • Advance the development of new and innovative HIV/AIDS-related technologies for the prevention, treatment, and diagnosis, including production and multi-purpose technologies, that have potential applications in HIV/AIDS.

Governement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Appliquer les connaissances scientifiques fondamentales par le biais du renforcement des capacités et des technologies du secteur privé

Objectifs

  • Renforcer les capacités des sites des PFR-PRI en matière d'essais cliniques sur les vaccins contre le VIH
  • Renforcer les capacités des chercheurs et des institutions de recherche en ce qui a trait aux essais cliniques de haute qualité
  • Mettre en place un nouveau fonds de paiements de transfert afin de favoriser la participation du secteur privé dans le développement des technologies qui contribueront à la mise au point d'un vaccin contre le VIH

Activités

  • Offrir du soutien à l'Initiative de recherche en santé mondiale (IRSM) afin d'offrir un programme de subventions pour renforcer la capacité d'effectuer des essais de prévention de l'infection au VIH en vue de renforcer la capacité et le leadership des chercheurs et des institutions de recherche africains pour la réalisation future d'essais de prévention du VIH/sida axés sur les technologies de prévention de l'infection par le VIH, en particulier les vaccins
  • Offrir des services de soutien à l'égard de la gestion directe de projets ainsi que l'accès à des renseignements et à des connaissances techniques afin d'aider les chercheurs à transformer la recherche appliquée et la recherche préclinique en études sur les essais cliniques
  • Offrir du financement à des concepteurs de vaccins contre le VIH afin de permettre l'accès des installations du secteur privé à des essais cliniques sur des candidats vaccins contre le VIH
  • Favoriser la participation des petites et moyennes entreprises dans les projets qui contribueront à la mise au point d'un vaccin contre le VIH dans le cadre d'un nouveau programme chapeauté par le Programme d'aide à la recherche industrielle du Conseil national de recherches (PARI-CNR)

Résultats

  • Augmentation du nombre d'essais cliniques en stade précoce dans les PFR-PRI
  • Transition efficiente et opportune de la recherche préclinique vers les études sur les essais cliniques, ce qui aura pour effet d'accroître l'ensemble des connaissances en ce qui a trait à la mise au point d'un vaccin contre le VIH au Canada et dans les PFR-PRI
  • Augmentation du nombre d'essais cliniques pour les candidats-vaccins prometteurs contre le VIH dans les PFR-PRI
  • Renforcement des capacités en matière d'essais cliniques au Canada et dans les PFR-PRI
  • Appuyer le développement de nouvelles technologies novatrices en rapport avec le VIH/sida pour les activités de prévention, de traitement et de diagnostic, y compris les technologies de production et les technologies polyvalentes qui peuvent être appliquées à la mise au point de vaccins contre le VIH/sida