Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Developing an HIV Vaccine

A "vaccine" typically refers to a preventive vaccine. A preventive vaccine is designed for individuals who are not infected with the targeted disease, for example, HIV. The vaccine would either prevent the individual from becoming infected when exposed to the HIV virus, and, if infection does occur, stop the disease from progressing as quickly to AIDS. A therapeutic vaccine would be designed to reduce the impact of HIV/AIDS in individuals already infected with the disease.

A preventive vaccine works by teaching the immune system, before the body is exposed to a virus, how to defend against a virus by creating an immune response. If the vaccinated person is later exposed to the virus, the immune system responds quickly to neutralize and clear the virus.

The development of an effective HIV vaccine is complicated by several factors. First, HIV attacks the very immune system that a vaccine relies on to fight infections. Second, the virus mutates, making it especially difficult for the immune system to target it effectively. An additional challenge is that HIV inserts copies of its genetic material into cells of the immune system and other parts of the body, essentially hiding in the body for years. Eventually, the body loses its protective mechanisms and succumbs to AIDS.

Researchers worldwide have recognized that there are significant scientific obstacles to developing and delivering HIV vaccines, and that these obstacles can only be overcome through focussed and globally coordinated commitment and sustained long-term action.

In June 2004, the Global HIV Vaccine EnterpriseExternal Link was established with the support of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation and the United States National Institutes of Health. The Global Enterprise is an alliance of independent organizations, governments and stakeholders around the world dedicated to accelerating the development of preventive HIV vaccines by implementing a shared Scientific Strategic Plan (SSP); increasing and mobilizing significant new funding; and enhancing collaboration by promoting more efficient and faster ways for researchers to share successes and failures in order to avoid duplication of efforts. The SSP envisages implementation of a strategic plan for HIV vaccine research that spans vaccine discovery, product development and manufacturing, and clinical trials.

At the 2006 G8 Summit in St. Petersburg, Russia, the developed world leaders reaffirmed their commitment to the Island Summit Initiative, which signalled the creation of the Global Enterprise, noting that "there is a need to enhance the scientific and technical capacities in this area at the global, regional and national levels." They also welcomed coordination of activities and cooperation between the Global Enterprise and other global initiatives and North/South partnerships active in this field. At the 2007 G8 Summit in Heilingendamm, Germany, the leaders reiterated their commitment to accelerating global HIV vaccine development efforts.

In February 2007, a collaborative initiative between the Government of Canada and the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation was announced by the Prime Minister and Bill Gates.

In July 2010, at the XVIII International AIDS Conference in Vienna, Austria, the renewed Canadian HIV Vaccine Initiative was announced by Government of Canada in collaboration with the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation.

Note: Some information on this page is courtesy of the International AIDS Vaccine Initiative (IAVI)External Link

HIV Vaccine

One of the greatest public health interventions in the past 100 years has been the discovery and widespread use of vaccines. More than 30 common infectious diseases are preventable with vaccines, and one of the most deadly, smallpox, was eliminated from human populations in 1979. The cost to eradicate smallpox was US$300 million, whereas the benefit has been estimated at US$27 billion over 20 years. Vaccines constitute one of the most cost-effective public health interventions available.

AIDS is a deadly disease that has already killed more than 30 million people worldwide. In the absence of a cure for AIDS, the development of vaccines to prevent HIV infection offers the greatest promise for slowing the epidemic.

Despite the fact that HIV infection is largely preventable, millions of new infections occur each year. The Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS (UNAIDS) (PDF document)External Link and the World Health Organization (WHO) estimate that approximately 34 million people worldwide were living with HIV in 2010. An estimated 2.7 million people became newly infected with HIV in 2010.

The burden of HIV/AIDS (PDF document)External Link is greatest in low-and middle-income countries (low-and-middle-income countries), particularly in sub-Saharan Africa, but also in the Caribbean, East Asia, Eastern Europe and Central Asia.

Sub-Saharan Africa remains the most heavily affected region, accounting for 71% of all new HIV infections in 2008. Over 90 percent of people living with HIV/AIDS are in the developing world. Women and children are especially vulnerable. An estimated 430,000 new HIV infections occurred among children under the age of 15 in 2008. Most of these new infections are believed to stem from transmission in utero, during delivery or post-partum as a result of breastfeeding. The number of children newly infected with HIV in 2008 was roughly 18% lower than in 2001, in part due to the success of programs to prevent the mother to child transmission of HIV. As well, women constitute about half of all people living with HIV - an estimated 15.7 million in 2008 - and more than 60% of new infections in Africa. Globally, AIDS is the leading cause of death for women of reproductive age.

The number of persons living with HIV (including AIDS), in Canada continues to rise, from an estimated 57,000 in 2005 to 65,000 in 2008 (a 14% increase). The increase in the number of people living with HIV is due to two factors: new treatments have improved survival of HIV-infected persons and new infections continue to occur. In terms of exposure category, men who have sex with men (MSM) continued to comprise the greatest proportion (44%) of new infections in 2008, which was only slightly lower than the estimated 45% they comprised in 2005. In 2008, the proportion of new infections among persons who inject drugs (IDU) was slightly higher than in 2005 (17% compared to 16%). The proportions of new infections were unchanged from 2005 in both heterosexual/ non-endemic (20%) and heterosexual/endemic (16%) exposure categories.

In terms of exposure category, men who have sex with men (MSM) continued to comprise the greatest proportion (44%) of new infections in 2008, which was only slightly lower than the estimated 45% they comprised in 2005. In 2008, the proportion of new infections among persons who inject drugs (IDU) was slightly higher than in 2005 (17% compared to 16%). The proportions of new infections were unchanged from 2005 in both heterosexual/ non-endemic (20%) and heterosexual/endemic (16%) exposure categories.

Ultimately, a safe, effective, affordable and globally accessible HIV vaccine is needed to end the AIDS epidemic and reverse its devastating social and economic impacts, particularly for those living in low-and-middle-income countries. Developing an HIV vaccine, however, is proving to be a challenging task.

Governement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Mise au point d'un vaccin de prévention du VIH

Par « vaccin », on entend généralement un vaccin de prévention. Un vaccin de prévention est conçu à l'intention des personnes qui ne sont pas infectées par la maladie ciblée, comme le VIH. Le vaccin peut empêcher qu'une personne ne soit infectée lorsqu'elle entre en contact avec le virus du VIH et, si l'infection s'installe, il peut ralentir la progression de la maladie jusqu'au sida. Un vaccin thérapeutique serait conçu pour réduire les effets du VIH/sida chez les personnes déjà porteuses du virus.

Les vaccins préventifs enseignent au système immunitaire, avant que le corps ne soit exposé à un virus, la façon de se défendre contre ce virus en créant une réaction immunitaire. Lorsque la personne vaccinée est exposée au virus, son système immunitaire réagit rapidement pour le neutraliser et l'éliminer.

Plusieurs facteurs compliquent la mise au point d'un vaccin efficace contre le VIH. D'abord, le VIH attaque justement le système immunitaire qui devrait lutter contre l'infection pour laquelle la personne est vaccinée. De plus, il subit des mutations; donc, le système immunitaire a beaucoup de difficulté à cibler le virus. Enfin, le VIH insère des copies de son matériel génétique dans les cellules du système immunitaire et dans d'autres parties du corps; il réussit donc à se cacher pendant des années. Le corps finit par perdre ses mécanismes de protection, ce qui déclenche la maladie du sida.

Les chercheurs du monde entier reconnaissent qu'il y a des obstacles scientifiques importants à la mise au point et à l'administration de vaccins contre le VIH. Ces obstacles peuvent seulement être franchis grâce à un engagement ciblé et coordonné à l'échelle mondiale et à un plan d'action soutenu à long terme.

En juin 2004, l'Entreprise mondiale pour un vaccin contre le VIH Lien externe (disponible en anglais seulement)- a vu le jour avec le soutien de la Fondation Bill et Melinda Gates et des National Institutes of Health des États-Unis. L'Entreprise mondiale est une alliance d'organisations indépendantes, de gouvernements et d'intervenants du monde entier qui veulent accélérer la mise au point de vaccins contre le VIH par l'adoption d'un Plan stratégique scientifique commun (PSS), augmenter le financement des sources actuelles et mobiliser de nouvelles sources, et rehausser la collaboration en faisant la promotion de moyens plus efficaces et plus rapides pour les chercheurs de partager leurs réussites et leurs échecs pour éviter le chevauchement des efforts. Le PSS prévoit la mise en œuvre d'un plan stratégique de recherche sur un vaccin contre le VIH qui couvre la découverte du vaccin, son développement et sa production ainsi que les essais cliniques.

Au Sommet du G8 en 2006, à Saint-Pétersbourg, en Russie, les chefs des pays développés ont confirmé leur engagement envers l'initiative du Sommet de Sea Island qui a donné le feu vert à la création de l'Entreprise mondiale. Ils ont reconnu qu'il fallait « améliorer les capacités scientifiques et techniques dans ce domaine aux échelles mondiale, régionale et nationale ». Ils se sont aussi montrés en faveur de la coordination des activités et de la coopération entre l'Entreprise mondiale et les autres initiatives mondiales et partenariats Nord-Sud actifs dans le domaine. Au Sommet du G8 de 2007 à Heilingendamm, en Allemagne, les chefs ont réaffirmé leur engagement envers l'intensification mondiale des efforts de mise au point d'un vaccin contre le VIH.

En février 2007, le Premier ministre et Bill Gates ont annoncé qu'un protocole d'entente avait été conclu entre le gouvernement du Canada et la Fondation Bill et Melinda Gates.

En juillet 2010, dans le cadre de la XVIIIe Conférence internationale sur le sida, qui s'est déroulée à Vienne, en Autriche, le gouvernement du Canada, en collaboration avec la Fondation Bill et Melinda Gates, a annoncé la mise en œuvre de l'Initiative canadienne de vaccin contre le VIH renouvelée.

Nota : Certains des renseignements sont fournis par l'International AIDS Vaccine Initiative (IAVI)Lien externe.

Vaccin contre le VIH

La découverte et l'utilisation répandue des vaccins constituent l'une des plus importantes interventions de la santé publique du dernier siècle. Plus de 30 maladies infectieuses courantes peuvent être évitées à l'aide de vaccins; en outre, l'une des plus meurtrières, la variole, a été enrayée chez les humains en 1979. L'éradication de la variole a coûté 300 millions de dollars US, alors que les bénéfices de l'initiative ont été évalués à 27 milliards de dollars US sur 20 ans. Les vaccins comptent parmi les interventions de la santé publique les plus rentables qui soient.

Le sida est une maladie qui a déjà emporté plus de 30 millions de personne dans le monde. Comme il n'existe pas de traitement contre le sida, la mise au point d'un vaccin de prévention du VIH, le virus qui mène au sida, constitue la meilleure solution pour ralentir l'épidémie.

Même s'il est tout à fait possible de se protéger contre l'infection au VIH, des millions de personnes sont infectées chaque année. Le Programme commun des Nations Unies sur le VIH/sida (ONUSIDA) et l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS) (Document PDF)Lien externe estiment qu'environ 34 millions de personnes étaient porteuses du VIH en 2010. Ces mêmes organisations estiment que 2,7 millions de personnes ont été infectées en 2010.

Le fardeau du VIH/sida (Document PDF)Lien externe touche surtout les pays à faible revenu et à revenu intermédiaire (PFR-PRI), comme en Afrique subsaharienne, dans les Antilles, en Extrême-Orient, en Europe de l'Est et en Asie centrale. L'Afrique subsaharienne demeure la région la plus touchée, représentant 71 % de toutes les nouvelles infections au VIH en 2008. Plus de 90 % des personnes porteuses du VIH/sida sont dans des pays en développement. Les femmes et les enfants sont particulièrement vulnérables. On estime à 430 000 le nombre de nouvelles infections chez les enfants de moins de quinze ans en 2008. On croit que la plupart de ces nouvelles infections sont attribuables à la transmission in utero, durant la grossesse ou post-partum par l'allaitement naturel. Le nombre d'enfants nouvellement infectés par le VIH en 2008 était environ 18 % moins élevé qu'en 2001, en partie en raison du succès des programmes visant à prévenir la transmission du VIH de la mère à l'enfant.

En outre, selon les estimations, les femmes infectées en 2008 étaient au nombre de 15,7 millions et représentaient près de la moitié des nouvelles infections, et plus de 60 % des nouveaux cas d'infection en Afrique. À l'échelle mondiale, le sida est la principale cause de décès chez les femmes en âge d'avoir des enfants.

Au Canada, le nombre de personnes porteuses du VIH (y compris le sida) continue de croître, passant de 57 000 en 2005 à 65 000 en 2008 (une hausse de 14 %). Cette hausse du nombre de personnes vivant avec le VIH est attribuable à deux facteurs : de nouveaux traitements ont amélioré la survie des personnes infectées par le VIH et il continue d'y avoir de nouveaux cas d'infection. En ce qui a trait aux catégories d'exposition, ce sont les hommes ayant des relations sexuelles avec des hommes (HRSH) qui continuent de représenter la plus forte proportion de nouveaux cas d'infection (44 %), ce chiffre n'étant que très légèrement inférieur à la proportion estimative de 45 % enregistrée en 2005. En 2008, la proportion de nouveaux cas d'infection parmi les personnes qui utilisent des drogues par injection (UDI) était légèrement plus élevée qu'en 2005 (17 % comparativement à 16 %). Les proportions de nouveaux cas d'infection demeurent les mêmes qu'en 2005 pour les catégories d'exposition « Hétérosexuels/pays non endémiques » (20 %) et « Hétérosexuels/ pays endémiques » (16 %)

En définitive, il faut un vaccin sûr, abordable et accessible dans le monde entier pour prévenir le VIH et enrayer l'épidémie de sida afin de mettre fin à ses conséquences sociales et économiques dévastatrices, surtout dans les PFR-PRI. La mise au point d'un vaccin pour prévenir le VIH s'avère toutefois un défi de taille.